Select Page

Every year, one American League (AL) team wins the pennant, signifying they are the league’s winner and have the right to perform at the World Series against the champion of the National League. The pennant was presented to the group with the best win–loss album each year throughout the 1968 season, after which the American League Championship Series (ALCS) was introduced to pick on the pennant winner. The very first modern World Series was played in 1903 and, after a hiatus in 1904, has taken place annually except 1994, when a players’ strike forced the cancellation of the postseason. The American League pennant holders that are existing would be.
Back in 1969, the team split into two branches, and the groups with the top records in each division played another from the five-game ALCS to determine the pennant winner, who received (and continues to receive) that the William Harridge Trophy. The trophy featured a golden eagle, the league’s emblem, sitting beneath a silver baseball and clutching the American League banner. [6] Since 2017, the trophy is all silver with a pennant at the top. The trophy is named for Will Harridge, who was league president from 1931 to 1958. The format of the ALCS was changed from a best-of-five into a best-of-seven format in the 1985 postseason. Back in 1995, an extra playoff series was added when Major League Baseball restructured into three divisions in each league. As of 2010, the winners of the Eastern, Central, and Western Divisions, as well as the AL Wild Card winner, play at the American League Division Series, also a best-of-five playoff to Find out the opponents who will play in the ALCS. American League pennant winners have gone on to win the World Series 66 occasions, most recently in 2018.
The New York Yankees have won 40 AL pennants, winning their first in 1921 and their most recent in 2009. This total is more than twice that of their next-closest team, the Oakland Athletics, who have won 15. They are accompanied closely by the Boston Red Sox and the Detroit Tigers, with 14 and 11 pennants won respectively. The Yankees have the most pennants because the introduction of the ALCS in 1969 with 11, followed with the Athletics and the Baltimore Orioles with 6 and 5 respectively. The Yankees also hold the record for most wins by a pennant-winning group, using their 1998 team winning 114 out of 162 games, finishing 22 games ahead of the Boston Red Sox. Even the 1954 Cleveland Indians won the most matches of any pennant winner beneath the pre-1969 system, winning 111 out of the 154 matches and completing eight games ahead of the Yankees. The Milwaukee Brewers won the American League pennant in 1982 but later moved to the National League beginning in the 1998 season.
The only American League team to have never won a pennant is the Seattle Mariners

Read more: