Select Page

(CNN) — Long-range screamers, mazy solo conducts and magnificent acrobatic strikes, this year’s Puskas Award has everything.
The prize is provided by FIFA to the best goal of the season and this year’s candidates incorporate ever-present Lionel Messi, previous winner Zlatan Ibrahimovic and a few lesser known titles like Billie Simpson of both Northern Ireland Premiership side Cliftonville Ladies.
Simpson is expecting to become the first female winner of this award — named after mythical Hungarian star Ferenc Pusk??s — along with Cameroon’s Ajara Nchout and Amy Rodriguez of this Utah Royals.
READ: A star is born — 16-year-old Angolan humbles star-studded PSG
READ: Mohamed Salah is’happy at Liverpool’ — less so with the Egyptian FA
The prize was awarded in 2009 to Cristiano Ronaldo and since that time, stars like Neymar, James Rodriguez and a year’s victor Mohamed Salah have gone on to acquire.
The public votes to the initial top 10, prior to a FIFA panel chooses a winner in the upper three.
Previous winners, almost entirely unheard of before their nominations and subsequent wins, comprise Wendell Lira and Faiz Subri.
Without a club and struggling to feed his loved ones, Lira said his lifestyle changed. He went on to sign up for Vila Nova but knee injuries forced him retire at age 27 and he moved on to become a participant and YouTuber.
Public voting for its 2019 award closes on September 1.

Read more: betting site